Wacom Intuos 4 Setup

My Intuos 4 settings and configuration.

Some days ago I thought about sharing my Wacom Intuos 4 setup and configuration. The reason for why I thought of this is because I’ve seen several posts on different forums asking “how should I set up and configure my Wacom tablet for <insert program>?”, as well as had several people asking me what type of setup I am using when I paint in both Adobe Photoshop (CS4) and Corel Painter (11). I’ve made this blog post to shed some light on my configuration, and on configuring your Wacom tablet in general – it can be a mess, and you definitely should configure your Wacom tablet to suit your needs, it improves the flow of your work by quite an amount.

Let’s take the first things first: Why would you want to configure your tablet and your stylus to several different applications?

Simply because it gives you easier access to much used shortcuts – it enables you to focus on drawing your picture and takes away the need to have one hand aligned up with your keyboard and your brain to stop and think “Hmm.. What was the shortcut for <insert tool/task>?” and instead just press a button or slide on a wheel on your Wacom tablet.

I’m sharing my Wacom_Tablet.dat configuration file for my own Wacom Intuos 4 tablet and stylus.

  • Updated: Here’s my Wacom_Tablet.dat – In Windows Vista/7 it’s found under C:/User/<yourusername>/AppData(hidden)/Roaming/WTablet/
  • Here’s my Preferences Backup from the Wacom Tablet Preference File Utility
About this entry